Press Releases
Mar 4

Written by: MBTA -
Friday, March 04, 2011 


March 4, 2011
For immediate release
For information, contact Maria Fuentes, 207-592-0227

MBTA Educational Foundation announces 17 scholarships
The MBTA Educational Foundation has announced 17 scholarships to students studying in transportation-related fields. The awards represent $16,500 in scholarship monies, a record amount for the MBTA Educational Foundation that administers the scholarships.
The MBTA Educational Foundation, founded in 2000, is a tax-exempt, non-profit charitable organization that awards scholarships annually to deserving Maine students studying transportation-related fields of study. Funding for 14 of the 17 scholarships was raised by the foundation; the remaining three scholarships were funded jointly by the Maine Section, American Society of Civil Engineers and the Maine Better Transportation Association and administered by the foundation.
Following is a complete list of the scholarship winners:
Transportation Trailblazers
These grants go to a student enrolled or accepted in a transportation-related program and who has demonstrated an interest in the industry and shows promise as a future advocate for the transportation community in Maine. This is a sustaining scholarship, meaning the same individual may receive it for up to four years.
Bo Li, University of Maine, Civil Engineering
Joseph Birckhead, University of Maine, Civil Engineering
Kenneth W. Burrill Scholar
Awarded in honor of Maine Transportation Achievement Award honoree and former MBTA President, Kenneth W. Burrill to students demonstrating strong creative and leadership skills.
Dylan Thomas Smith, University of Maine, Construction Management
Lucius Barrows Scholars
Awarded annual in memory of former Maine Department of Transportation Chief Engineer Lucius Barrows.
Stephen Bates, University of Maine, Civil Engineering
Annika Mathiasson, University of Maine, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Samedy Oun, University of Maine, Civil Engineering


Millard W. Pray Scholars
Millard Pray, a former MBTA president, has been very active with the foundation. This scholarship was established by his friend and former business partner Eldon Morrison to honor Prays commitment to education.
Amber Ferland, Norwich University, Civil Engineering
Nicholas W. Ibarguen, University of Oklahoma, Civil Engineering
Jacqueline Scott, Babson College, Business
Paris J. Snow Scholars
Established to honor former Aroostook County legislator, businessman and Maine Better Transportation board of directors member, Paris J. Snow.
Shawn Lagasse, Northern Maine Community College, Diesel Hydraulics/Commercial Operator
Gregory I. Schools, Northern Maine Community College, Diesel Hydraulics
Transportation Conference Scholars
Maine Better Transportation Association partners with the Maine Section, American Society of Civil Engineers to provide scholarships to UMaine engineering and construction management program students, through donations made at the annual Maine Transportation Conference. The MBTA Educational Foundation administers these scholarships.
Alan Farrington, University of Maine, Civil Engineering
Katy Grime, University of Maine, Civil Engineering
Alex Michaud, University of Maine, Civil Engineering
MBTA Educational Foundation Scholars
Students enrolled at the University of Maine, Maine Maritime Academy, Washington County Community College, Northern Maine Community College and Southern Maine Community College are eligible for these grants. Each school forwards names to the MBTA of students enrolled in transportation-related programs and who have shown financial need and academic promise. Members of the foundation’s board of directors make the selections.
Justin Charles Cleaves, University of Maine Construction Management
Josh Luce, University of Maine, Construction Management
Ronald St. John, Washington County Community College, Heavy Equipment Operation
For more information about the foundation and its scholarship programs, visit and click on the “Scholarships” tab.