MBTA Educational Foundation

The MBTA has a separate 501(c)3 charitable foundation that awards scholarships through the MBTA Educational Foundation. Most of the money raised for the scholarships comes from the Foundation’s annual Super Raffle. Preference is given to students attending Maine universities or colleges, apart from the Millard Pray Scholarship which goes to students affiliated with CPM Constructors. Preference may also be given to students who have worked in the transportation or construction or engineering field, or who have shown other indications that construction or transportation is their career of choice. Demonstrated financial need is requested but does not apply to every scholarship.

Other scholarship Criteria:

  • Must have completed high school or the equivalent and be accepted or enrolled in a relevant program of study.
  • Areas of study may include: civil engineering, construction management, construction trades, marine, rail or aviation studies, heavy equipment operation, diesel mechanic or similar majors
  • Applicants must write an essay (minimum of 150 words) describing why they wish to pursue a transportation- or construction-related career.
  • A transcript must be included.
  • References are encouraged but not required.

Transportation Trailblazer Scholarship: Up to $2,000

The Trailblazer Scholarship is a scholarship that may be awarded for one to three years, provided the student is still enrolled in an undergraduate program in a transportation-related field. This award typically goes to a student attending college in Maine who has demonstrated leadership, has a GPA of 3.0 or higher, and is likely to remain in the transportation or construction industry in Maine.

MBTA Educational Foundation Named Scholarships

Kenneth W. Burrill Scholarship:  Amount: $1,500

Created in 2008 to honor an MBTA past president and long-time advocate for construction and transportation spending.  Ken Burrill had a long history with H.E. Sargent and affiliated companies and served as president of Bridgecorp.  In addition to advocating for Maine’s business climate, he had a passion for politics and served as finance chair for some of Maine’s most prominent Republican U.S. senators. He was the chief fundraiser for dozens of state highway and transportation bond referendum campaigns over 30 years.

Frank A. Healy Scholarship:  Amount: $1,000

The Frank A. Healy Scholarship was established by his two colleagues in the construction industry: Rodney Lane and John Wardwell, with contributions from the transportation industry and friends and members of the Healy family.  A visionary past president of MBTA, he created the MBTA Infrastructure Development Fund, to ensure that the association would have reserved funds for future education and advocacy campaigns.  He was a mentor to many inside and outside The Lane Construction Corporation, where he retired after a long and distinguished career. Preference may be given to students at community colleges or UMaine, or who work for Northeast Paving (formerly The Lane Construction Corporation).

Millard W. Pray:  Amount Varies

This fund was established in 2003 by Eldon Morrison of CPM Constructors in honor of his friend and long-time business partner, Millard Pray, who joined the company in 1986. Matching funds were provided by MBTA members. Pray is a past president of MBTA and was instrumental in expanding the scope and reach of the MBTA Educational Foundation. Millard is a self-taught, self-made individual who learned on the job and rose to the top of his profession. Millard makes the selections for the scholarship in his name, which goes to students who are affiliated with CPM Constructors.

Scholarships for Specific Colleges

The following scholarships are specific to certain Maine institutions so applicants must be attending one of the following:

  • Northern Maine Community College Paris Snowe Award: Amount: $500 – $1,000
  • Southern Maine Community College: Amount: $500 – $1,000
  • Washington County Community College: Amount: $500 – $1,000
  • Maine Maritime Academy: Amount: $1,000
  • UMaine Lucius D. Barrows Scholarship: $1,000
  • UMaine Construction Engineering Technology Scholarship: $1,000

Other Scholarships

Additional funds for scholarships are sometimes available for Maine students pursuing transportation-related fields of study, so students who may not fit into one of the categories above should still feel free to apply for scholarships.

Maine Transportation Conference Scholarships

The MBTA is proud to partner with the Maine Section ASCE in raising money and awarding the annual Maine Transportation Conference Scholarships. Every year, the conference offers scholarship sponsors to organizations and businesses that wish to contribute to this fund. The awards are made to students in the civil engineering or construction management program at the University of Maine, and UMaine faculty may assist in selecting the recipients.

Scholarships have been awarded for 2019-2020.

Scholarship applications for the 2020-2021 academic year will be reviewed in the fall of 2020.

Please check back this summer for deadlines.