Since 1939, a nonpartisan voice

Good transportation is essential to the health of Maine’s communities and its economy. The Maine Better Transportation Association has been advocating for investment in a safe, efficient transportation network since its founding in 1939 as the Maine Good Roads Association.

In the early years, the state was working to modernize and improve the safety of Maine’s highways and state roads. One of the first issues that Maine Good Roads members took up was to ensure the state had the funds to achieve that goal, including passage of a state constitutional amendment to protect Highway Fund revenues from being diverted for other purposes. The organization fought for the amendment, advocating at the state house and with voters. The amendment went to voters in September 1944 and passed overwhelmingly by a margin of 8-to-2.

Over the years, we have broadened our mission to advocate for Maine’s multimodal system, and officially changed the name to Maine Better Transportation Association in 1983 to reflect our concern for a robust network of roads, bridges, airports, ports, rail, transit and bicycle and pedestrian facilities.

Paul Bradbury, Portland International Jetport

1st Vice President
Dana Knapp, Concord Coach Lines

2nd Vice President
Irvin Smith, H.O. Bouchard, Inc.

Secretary / Treasurer
Tony Grande, VHB

Immediate Past President
Patrick Sughrue, Cianbro Corporation

Board of Directors
Parker Brown, Shaw Bros. Construction, Inc.
George Campbell, Jr., James W. Sewall Company
Tony Caruso, Bangor International Airport
Dana Connors, Maine State Chamber of Commerce
Douglas Davidson, Maine Turnpike Authority
Gregory Dore, Maine Chapter APWA
Deborah Dunlap Avasthi, Androscoggin Bank
Timothy Folster, Sargent Corporation
Alan Gould, HD Supply/ AH Harris / White Cap
Jason Griffiths, Pike Industries, Inc.
John Harbottle, The Rowley Agency, Inc.
Brent Hartley, Brent K. Hartley, CPA
Larry Hutchins, Bitumar USA, Inc.
Michelle Ibarguen, Cross Insurance
Paul Koziell, CPM Constructors
Rodney Lane, Northeast Paving Company
Roland Lavallee, HNTB Corporation
Randy Mace, Chadwick-BaRoss, Inc.
Bruce Manzer, Anson
Thomas Martin, Jr., Greene
Ian Messier, Crooker Construction
Brian Raymond, Northeast Paving Company
Eric Ritchie, Sargent Corporation
Stephen Sawyer, Sebago Technics, Inc.
John Wardwell, Northeast Paving Company
Conrad Welzel, City of Portland
Erik Wiberg, R.W. Gillespie & Associates, Inc.